Municipal Library Board


The Library Board is advisory in nature and whose duty and responsibility is to investigate, examine, and study the operation of the Municipal Library, prepare written recommendations for programs, policies and procedures, and other important matters of the Library.  The Board acts as a liaison between the community and the governing body to promote the Library's services and programs. 


The Board meets quarterly in January, April, July, and October.  The meetings are held at the Liberty Municipal Library on the third Thursday of each month at 9:00 a.m.


The Board is comprised of nine (9) members appointed by the City Council. Five (5) members are appointed in even-numbered years and four (4) members are appointed in odd-numbered years. These appointments are made in September of each year, for two-year staggered terms. Members must be a resident of the City and may serve three (3) consecutive terms.

Board Member    Appointed    Term Expires 
Bruce Wright    Sept. 2017     Sept. 2019 
Dr. Cody Abshier    Sept. 2017    Sept. 2019 
Paul Schmidt   Sept. 2017   Sept. 2019
Beverly Davis    Sept. 2017    Sept. 2019 
Ellen English   Sept. 2016    Sept. 2018 
Yvonne Lawrence    Sept. 2016    Sept. 2018 
Joanne Knepper   Sept. 2016    Sept. 2018 
Susan LaCour    Sept. 2016   Sept. 2018
Mitzi Kline   Sept. 2016    Sept. 2018